A Love Story

When I grow old-old, I want to tell my grandchildren a story about two people meeting over online scrabble and falling in love.

Blue-eyed, witty American met boring, shy Filipina over scrabble. It was like any November day, the year 2014, when I had been playing a game introduced to me by a friend. I was playing against a random opponent, mickmonkee, whom I thought was pretty decent with words and looks. Unlike my usual self, I typed “Hi” and hit send, to which he immediately replied, “Hi yourself.” Something came over me and at the back of my head, I was saying “How snotty and rude.” I barely recall how we managed to keep talking but we exchanged a few more words, and I realized he was adorable in his own light. He was surprisingly sweet, thoughtful and oh, a superb scrabbler. God, it’s a shame how many games I’ve lost to him. πŸ˜–πŸ˜–πŸ˜–

The communication went rapidly from scrabble to other online messaging apps until one day, we decided to exchange numbers and add each other on Facebook. Talking on the phone for the first time was weird. It seemed impossible to break the silence that spun from not knowing what to say to each other. Eventually, we got over our first phone call jitters, and we were friends who talked about anything and everything. Friends to more than friends – and here we are, strong as day.

If you ask him, he’d say he fell first. I guess that’s true. I’d like to call my falling the kind that was gradual. I had to scrutinize him for his intentions and made sure he wasn’t like the rest. And when I was certain he was going to stick around, I told him about how I was reluctant to enter a serious relationship because of a bad childhood, a father who failed me, and the walls I’ve built, well – for my own protection. I’ve somehow felt that he understood everything and still loved me despite my inadequacies. All the holding up got me nowhere – even I couldn’t deny that I was in a happy place with him. So, I let my guard down and he tore the walls that had made me afraid my whole life. And I couldn’t thank him enough. 

‘Til now, I have never been prouder to say we’ve made it. Honestly, it was a tough choice to stake my claim and tell the world I wanted to be with someone whom I haven’t even met in person. For a moment, everyone was against it and I felt like I was going to lose it. It took a year and some months before people came around. And to this day, I know that there are still some who don’t and won’t understand. And that’s fine by me. One thing I learned from being in this relationship – you lose your shot at happiness when you put other people before you. People will always have something to say, but that’s just the way it is. You can’t please everyone. But you can always please you. And that’s what’s important. πŸ˜‰

So, thank you for putting up with my never-ending antics. For being a solid support system. For not just calling me beautiful, but making me believe it. For embracing my mood swings. For the sympathy pains. For the laughs and the cries. For not hanging up when I forget it’s a phone call and not karaoke (even when I know your ears probably have bled). For knowing I’m bipolar and having the guts to tolerate it. The list could go on and on but you know where I’m getting at, right? 

There is not a thing in this world that would make me want to trade this for any other love story. It’s just getting better every day since day one, and I can’t wait to see what happens next. 

Here’s to more I love yous, I miss yous, petty fights, clingy as fuck moments, jetlag and time differences, scrabble rematches and hayday derbies. I love you my eternal pain in the butt!

Author: heartinanutshell

Neri is a twenty-something who loves to write about her interests, which include food and travel, to name a few. She is a registered nurse by profession; a dark chocolate and strawberry addict; sunflower lover; sappy rom-com and YA fiction fanatic who's happily in love with TJ, her best friend-slash-pain in the butt boyfriend. 😊

Leave a Reply

